Awards and Rankings

Search Awards and Rankings
Search by date
Choose From Date
Choose To Date

Sutherland Asbill & Brennan Receives Three Awards from Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law

December 15, 2005

WASHINGTON (December 15, 2005) – The Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law recognized Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP at their 2005 Annual Awards Reception with the Robert F. Mullen Pro Bono Award. Sutherland Partner Charles T. Lester, Jr. was awarded the Whitney North Seymour Award, and Sutherland client Gloria Y. Turner-Simpkins won the Frank R. Parker Client Award.

The Robert F. Mullen Award is given by the Lawyers' Committee in memory of Robert Mullen, a former Co-Chair of the Lawyers' Committee. Robert was a devoted leader of the Committee and was a staunch advocate of pro bono legal services, as well as an activist for racial equality.

The Whitney North Seymour Award is the highest award given to lawyers by the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights under Law. It recognizes a Lawyers' Committee Board member who exemplifies the legacy of service and integrity of Whitney Seymour, the Lawyers' Committee founder.

The Frank R. Parker Award is named in memory of the former Chief Counsel of the Lawyers' Committee's Jackson, Mississippi office, and longtime Project Director of the national Voting Rights Project, Frank R. Parker. The award is presented to recognize the courage and perseverance of a client of the Lawyers' Committee.

"I am proud that the Lawyers' Committee gave the Frank R. Parker Client of the Year Award to Gloria Turner-Simpkins, the brave leader of a family in litigation we brought with Committee lawyers as co-counsel to redress discrimination in public accommodations," Charlie Lester said. "That pride was magnified by the presentation to our firm of the Robert Mullen Pro Bono Award for the firm's current and past work with and for the Lawyers' Committee, including more than 20 years of service as Counsel to the Committee."

"Of course, I'm flattered and humbled by the presentation to me of the Whitney North Seymour award for service to the Lawyers' Committee," Lester added.

Sutherland has a long and distinguished history of public service beginning with the work of its founding partners, Bill Sutherland and Elbert Tuttle, on habeas corpus cases, including Johnson v. Zerbst, in the 1930s.

Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP is a national law firm known for solving challenging business problems and resolving unique legal issues for many of the nation's largest companies. Founded in 1924, the firm has grown to more than 425 lawyers with offices in Atlanta, Austin, Houston, New York, Tallahassee and Washington. For further information about the firm, please visit

Our Story

Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP is an international law firm helping the Fortune 100, industry leaders, sector innovators and business entrepreneurs solve their biggest challenges and reach their business goals. Dedicated to unfaltering excellence in client service, we are known for our business savvy and industry intelligence, providing creative and custom solutions for each of our clients. Industry and business experience makes the difference for our clients.

click to watch Videocast: DOL Fiduciary Rule Litigation Impacts
Videocast: DOL Fiduciary Rule Litigation Impacts
Atlanta, GA
Washington, DC
© 2017 Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP / Sutherland (Europe) LLP
Add this page to MYBRIEFCASE
About Us - Sutherland Asbill & Brennan Receives Three Awards from Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
Save ChangesDownload MYBRIEFCASEClear All